Warning: Political Post Ahead

November 7, 2012 at 11:51 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Well, I think we can all agree that we’re glad this election season is over.  And while I’m satisfied that the person I think is best fit to run this country will continue to do so, I’m also thrilled at some of the other big strides that were made in this election:

At least this is over

  • Two men who don’t know near enough about actual science to be talking about anything related to sex are no longer in the race for the Senate.  Todd Akin (who said that in cases of legitimate rape [which is what, exactly?], the woman’s body has a way of shutting down pregnancy) and Richard Mourdock (who said that pregnancy from rape is something God intended) both talked themselves out of a Senate seat and I think that’s a good thing.  I believe Akin is just an idiot who needs to take a high school biology class and while I understand that Mourdock was trying to say he’s pro-life, he needs to realize that we’re supposed to have a separation of church and state in this country.  I wonder what a woman who didn’t believe in God would think about getting pregnant via rape.  So yes, I’m glad these men are not making decisions for our country.
  • The first openly gay person was elected to the Senate!  Wisconsinite Tammy Baldwin’s sexual orientation didn’t come up much during the campaign and it was largely her track record and ideas that won her the seat.  Which is how it should be, and I’m so happy to see it happen.
  • Along those lines, Maryland and Maine both voted to approve same-sex marriage, which is a HUGE deal.  This is because, while it’s legal in a handful of other states, this is the first time in history that actual voters called for this measure of equality rather than having it awarded by the courts.  This is a great step in the right direction and I hope more voters follow suit.
  • Voters also approved legalizing the recreational use of marijuana in both Colorado and Washington.  The federal law still says it’s illegal but chances are people will be able to smoke freely fairly soon.  I’ve never understood why legalizing alcohol but criminalizing marijuana has been accepted for so many years and I think legalization is a good way to increase tax dividends for any particular state, not to mention it’s kind of common sense to have both substances treated the same way.  Plus, I bet those states see an uptick in tourists once all is said and done.

I believe major changes are taking place in this country (more happened last night alone but I don’t have the time to detail all of it) and I think that if Republicans want to stay relevant, they’re going to need to become more moderate in the long run.  This is no longer a country where entitled, old white men get to have the say in everything and I for one am glad of it.  However, regardless of your political affiliation, I hope we can all work together to make this country a safe and prosperous place to live and work in, for ourselves and for our children.  That’s what it should be all about, after all!

Leave a comment