Walk it Out

December 2, 2016 at 2:08 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I have officially been wearing my Jawbone step tracker for one entire year. Every day, I’ve managed to hit at least 10,000 steps. That’s a lot of walking! Here are some things I’ve learned:

094187437e0821bde24c8370426a366d

Ah yes, I’m familiar with this look.

  • It wasn’t easy. 10,000 steps is (for me) essentially about an hour and 45 minutes of walking each day. Since I don’t have a car and commute to the office, I walk a bit every day by default but there were many days that I had to force myself to go back out for another long walk in order to actually hit my steps. On some days, I literally had to plan around it and I often went out of my way to incorporate more walking.
  • Location matters. There was a big difference in my steps depending on where I was. It was always easier to hit them in Chicago and when I traveled to visit my family in other states where public transit isn’t as much of a thing, I felt it. I can’t even tell you how many laps I’ve made up and down my mom’s driveway in order to walk a little more! I’ve gotten spoiled to living in a place where there are sidewalks and I no longer take that for granted.
  • It becomes addicting. Logically, I know that I don’t have to “hit my steps” every day. But I’m just a little Type-A and once I started I just couldn’t stop. There was something about that daily vibration on my wrist that I just had to have! Sort of like a good habit. Which I guess is the point…
  • My tracker didn’t count stairs as two steps. Bummer, especially considering how I live on the third floor of a walk-up.
  • It did, however, count my elliptical and treadmill time at the gym. But not the stationary bike.
  • Some people thought I was crazy. I didn’t dispute that but I am glad I kept it up.

And because I think it’s interesting, here are some of my stats from the last year:

  • I walked an average of 13,698 steps a day
  • I walked the most in May, at 486,376 total steps
  • I walked the least in November, at 379,375 steps (not surprising given the wedding weekend and all)
  • Speaking of, I logged 11,478 steps on my wedding day…and I took off the band before the ceremony so that didn’t include all of my dancing, which probably added a few thousand more!
  • The most I walked in a single day was 26,746 steps (thanks to working an overnight at the museum…those nights were consistently my highest)
  • Overall, I walked 5 MILLION steps in 365 days.

Clearly my size 10 feet have done me some good after all!

 

Leave a Reply

