Pale Blue Dot

November 10, 2016 at 3:23 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


My wedding was perfect and magical and wonderful and beautiful and everything that Scott and I could have asked for and more. I’ll probably write more about it later so you can share in our excitement! We were euphoric and oh so happy, floating idyllically on Cloud 9 for days…well, for four days, to be exact. Because not long after we got back, the election happened.

I know people have different viewpoints and opinions and I really, truly try to abide by the whole “live and let live” ideology. That said, I take offence when others try to shove their own personal beliefs down my throat and I take even greater offence when the newly elected President of the United States is…well, who he is. And has done the things he’s said he’s done with little to no remorse. I honestly feel like our President-elect is a misogynistic, racist, narcissistic, arrogant, ignorant terror of a “man” and he scares the hell out of me. So I’m trying to process the roller-coaster of emotions I’ve felt over the last few days and it’s proving to be difficult. It’s even more difficult to imagine what the next four years will be like but I’m trying to stay positive. When that doesn’t work, I think about this:

il_570xn-485802879_1d4s

If you can’t read this, Google “Pale Blue Dot” by Carl Sagan. Better yet, watch on YouTube.

This isn’t the best time in the world but it’s certainly not the worst. And no matter what happens, no matter what is or isn’t done to our planet and for our future, this pale blue dot will continue to be a pale blue dot for a long time to come. The types of mammals around to witness it might be in question, but this Earth will be just fine. At least that’s something.

Leave a Reply

