Pilates Power!

July 28, 2016 at 12:23 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I did it! I completed my 10 weeks’ worth of pilates classes!

Actually, I completed 8 weeks’ worth of pilates because I had to miss two of the classes. But other than those, I managed to sweat and curse silently in my head for one hour every Wednesday during my lunch break. It was a good way to hang out with some coworkers outside of regular office duties but hell, I could’ve done that over happy hour drinks. Taking Pilates was something I had been wanting to try for a while and I’m proud of myself for actually sticking with it. I even had some fun!

basic-positions

Hey! I’ve done all of these!

Of course, it wasn’t all fun. I’m pretty sure our trainer has a bit of the devil in her but I guess that’s what it takes to make her clients work hard. She clearly knew what she was doing and every workout was completely different and full of variation. That was good because things didn’t get old and it also kept us on our feet – we never knew what was coming next. She incorporated some light hand weights into our exercises and I was surprised at just how heavy 2lbs can feel when you’re doing 30 small movement reps. And I lift weights at the gym sometimes so it’s not like I don’t have any muscle mass!

Seriously though I’m glad I tried this and encourage anyone else who’s been sitting on the fence about it to do the same. Clearly I’m a fan – we’re starting another ten weeks’ worth of class soon!

Leave a Reply

