Lunch Date

May 24, 2016 at 2:44 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Starting tomorrow, I will be doing Pilates once a week during my lunch hour with a group of women from my office. I’ve never done Pilates. Should I be nervous? Maybe, considering how I’ve misspelled it twice in a row so far and that doesn’t bode well for my understanding of the word.

I’m excited because I’ve been wanting to try a different sort of workout for a while now but just haven’t pulled the trigger. My gym offers classes and I’ve done yoga there a few times now but they don’t offer Pilates (at least, at a time that works for me. How dare they). There’s a studio dedicated to it in my neighborhood but I’m stingy and don’t want to shell out good money to workout after work when I’m already shelling out good money to workout after work at my gym and I clearly can’t do both. So the Pilates offers me a way to sneak in a workout in the middle of the day AND try something new!

yoga-vs-pilates

Wait. Is this Pilates? Oh crap.

Apparently I need to bring a yoga mat (check), 2-3lb hand weights (umm…maybe I can steal some from my gym?) and a large foam roller (which I own but am not lugging on the train into work). I’ll pack my bag tonight and be sure to take my ibuprofen tomorrow before I go! Surely it can’t be that strenuous or these ladies wouldn’t be able to return to work without a shower.

Oh god do I need to bring shower shoes?

Well, we’ll see. Bring on the burn!

Leave a Reply

