Yoga Time

April 26, 2016 at 2:58 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I attended my second-ever yoga class about a week ago and I lived to tell the tale!

I took one yoga class years ago at my old gym and while it was okay, it clearly didn’t make enough of an impression on me for me to go back. That was literally at least two years ago and in that time two new yoga/pilates studios have gone up right around my apartment. I wanted to sign up for classes but figured I should try one of the free classes offered at my gym before signing up for an actual commitment. Why don’t I just always take the free classes at my gym, you ask? Because the studio faces the weight machines and gives everyone working out a great view of the asses of everyone in the studio. This is especially undesirable since I don’t really know what I’m doing with yoga and would prefer not to have an audience if I land on my face.

yoga-silhouettes-pack_62147515391

I can do…like half of these.

But I prevailed! I toughed it out for the entire hour of class (even though I thought about tossing in the towel – literally – every two or three minutes). And while it wasn’t easy, it was pretty awesome. I was surprised with my own strength and endurance and also really inspired by those around me who were clearly much stronger and much more flexible than I’ll ever be. But perhaps with some more practice I can be like them, too!

Truth be told, though, I haven’t been back since. However that’s mostly because I’ve been so busy I’m having a hard time staying on top of my regular workouts, let alone trying to incorporate something else in the mix. But it didn’t kill me so I plan on going back – and not waiting two years to do it! And maybe eventually I’ll work my way to one of those actual studios.

Leave a Reply

