Tough Technology

March 22, 2016 at 2:15 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


I’ve been wearing one of those step-tracker/personal trainer doohickeys since the end of last year and I have to admit, I’m a little addicted. I personally sport the Jawbone, which I think it more stylish than the Fit-Bit while doing  basically the same thing. This contraption counts my steps and tracks my sleep, which is basically all I wanted it to do and it does come in pretty handy. It’ll track my calories too but I mostly like to see how far I walk and how much I sleep I get because it entertains and motivates me. Case in point: I’ve hit or exceeded my 10,000 steps every day this year! My sleep, on the other hand, isn’t as strong. And the Jawbone notices these things – then completely calls me out on it, which I guess is the whole reason I got it.

IMG_1888

Word.

I worked an overnight at the Museum on Friday evening and I racked up over 17,000 steps by the end of the day (meaning midnight Friday night). But wait, there’s more! Since part of my job during these overnights involves making rounds through all of the exhibits to ensure kids and parents are eventually going to sleep, I keep busy long after midnight. As you can see from this screenshot, I walked over half of my daily goal in steps between midnight and 2am! And my whopping 2.5 hours of sleep was about average for the overnights, so there was no surprise there. But I did think it was funny to have my phone app lecturing me like my mom. It even told me to take a nap! Which I didn’t do. I’m a grown-ass woman who can sleep when I want and no pocket computer or fancy bracelet is going to make me do differently!

But really, I’m pretty tired this week and a nap sounds great. Is this what people mean about technology becoming smarter than us and taking over? Because if AI has a half of the discipline that my damn Jawbone seems to think I should have, we’re all screwed.

 

Leave a Reply

