Public Freaking

March 3, 2016 at 4:07 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I’m doing some really cool things with my office and I’m currently working on a two-year long project that I’m very excited about! Basically, our firm is partnering with a nonprofit to help fund some of their needs and wants through activities that will involve my other coworkers. We’ll be taking days off of work to go volunteer for this organization and it’s a partnership that will make a huge difference, in both the short and long term. I’m the person acting as a liaison between our firm and the nonprofit and tomorrow afternoon I’ll be presenting a PowerPoint (that I created) to over 100 coworkers. Am I nervous? Nah.

I’m terrified.

0a86157

Oh god.

No, just kidding. I mean yes, I’m very nervous and trying to stop myself just short of the terrified threshold but I’m also pretty excited. I’m honored to have been asked to work alongside this nonprofit and I think everything we’re doing is incredible so I’m also proud to be a part of it. But the thought of getting up in front of so many people (many of whom I’ve never even met) is pretty scary. You may think I’d be used to it after all of the stuff I do with kids and the general public at The Field Museum but you’d be wrong. That’s just…different somehow. I kind of slip into teaching mode when I do that and I’d rather not act like a kindergarden teacher to my colleagues, you know? I’ve been practicing my speech in front of the mirror (and who am I kidding – at my desk, on the train, on the elliptical, etc) and I even had a dream about it last night. So while I’m excited and all that jazz – I’ll also be really glad when my presentation is over and I can eat the free lunch we’ll be providing. Because if I eat it before I present, I know I’ll get spinach in my teeth or something. Obviously. And I’m going to need to be showing off my pearly whites because the harder I smile, the less likely it is that I’ll throw up and pass out!

Leave a Reply

