These Old Bones…

February 3, 2016 at 3:09 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


…are getting another year older tomorrow!

I had a surreal moment last night because I realized I really am growing up. This moment came as I was sitting at our dining room table in my sweaty gym clothes, eating a beet salad that my loving fiance had prepared. We were even listening to classical music as he handed me my plate and I looked around at him, our apartment, our cat and our little life together and just felt…everything. If you had told me when I was a kid that this would be what my life looked like at 32, I’m not sure what I would have thought. Most likely, I would have been dismayed by the fact that I now regularly go to the gym and I would probably also be confused by the fact that I was no longer wearing corduroy pants with my Led Zeppelin shirt. I would have applauded my beet salad though, because that would have been something I would have assumed old people would eat.

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_cg600ie00zcwo4048s0sskoo0_640

But still a kid at heart!

But really, I am totally happy with where I am in life. I have a job that I thoroughly enjoy and I’m getting more involved in our firm’s philanthropy efforts (I’m planning two new big things now!) and so I can say that I truly feel good about where I work and what I’m doing. This is the first time since college that I can say that and mean it, so that’s a birthday present all in itself! I’ve also got great friends all over the country and have been lucky enough to maintain friendships with some of my favorite people from high school and college. I’m planning a wedding to my best friend and while we’re going to have a super fun and awesome party and honeymoon, I’m also very excited to get to call that best friend my husband and start our married life together (and at this point my younger self would be gagging but whatever). Oh – I also found $20 on the street this week! Obviously, things are going pretty great all around.

And you know what, younger self? I still wear that Zeppelin shirt.

Leave a Reply

