Fired Up

January 6, 2016 at 3:25 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I come from a place where guns are no big deal. My father never went hunting but he had a few handguns and rifles in our house and it was common to hear our neighbors shooting squirrels and deer in the woods (for dinner, not just sport). I used to date hunters and some of my Southern family proudly sit in deer stands a few months out of the year. Hell, I can remember announcements being made in my high school about needing to take the gun rack out of your truck before coming to class (you can tell that was pre-9/11). I’ve shot guns for fun and am no stranger to the fact that many people need or want one, for whatever reason.

That said, I’m totally behind this, which is our President’s plan for gun control.

I understand the right to bear arms but I absolutely think we need tighter measures for owning those arms and I simply don’t see the reason for guns used in wars to be out in the streets of our country (I don’t see the reason for most wars to begin with either but that’s opening another can of worms). I also think we need better mental health services for our citizens and hopefully if certain people get the help they need, they will be less likely to commit such horrible acts.

I’m like President Obama in that I believe we’ve gotten entirely too numb to these instances of mass shootings. The first time I can remember crying over senseless deaths brought on by guns was after a school shooting in Paducah, KY in 1997 – two years before Columbine. My young brain couldn’t wrap itself around the fact that a kid could do that to another kid and my mom and I stood in our kitchen, crying and trying to understand why. I don’t react that way anymore when another shooting happens (though some hit me harder than others) because they seem to be so commonplace. Here’s hoping that our government is taking steps in the right direction and that one day we will look back on this part of our past with the dismay of looking at something awful, foreign and long-removed.

Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

