Make Room for Roomba

December 30, 2015 at 4:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


My trip home for Christmas was a success! We even survived driving many hours through a freezing rain/sleet storm, only to pass out on our couch at like 8pm that night because our bodies were so exhausted from sheer stress of the drive. But we made it!

cat-shark-roomba-1

Maybe The Dude will do this if I buy him a shark costume?

Santa was far too good to me, per usual, but one of the gifts getting the most traction in our household was actually gifted to me a little before Christmas. One of my bosses is moving into a new place and decided she didn’t want her iRobot/Roomba to move with her so she generously passed it along to me. I had actually been googling Roomba’s for the hell of it a few weeks before she mentioned it and I was quickly and completely turned off by their price, so getting one for free was pretty darn perfect! If you know me, you know I have a love of keeping things clean and also a love of saving lots of cash so this situation pretty much made my 2015. And my 2016 too!

I’m not sure our downstairs neighbor is such a fan but you know what? That’s apartment living for ya. And I will admit that our furry feline friend does not much care for the new gadget either. The Dude basically stares at Robo (aka Roomba) while it motors around and does not seem to trust the machine not to suck up his little fuzzy tail. Though I guess I can sympathize with that because if I had a tail I’d worry about it too. That said, I am a little disappointed that Dude hasn’t taken to riding it around the apartment ala that cat video I’m sure you may have seen. But there’s still time.

Robo doesn’t entirely eliminate the need for sweeping but he does a pretty good job of it. His services are especially handy for picking up errant pieces of kitty litter and he’s only gotten himself stuck once or twice. Sidenote: why do I call Robo a ‘he’? I’m not sure but I think it has something to do with my fetish of a man constantly cleaning my house.

Now if I can train Robo to do my laundry I’d be all set!

 

 

Leave a Reply

