Who You Callin’ Shrimp?

December 11, 2015 at 4:36 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I received a few holiday gifts from my bosses this week, mostly in the form of very generous gift cards. However, one person in particular clearly gets me because she gave me tiny little living creatures that I can keep on my desk!

Dinner! No, not really.

Knowing how nerdy and into science I am, she gave me one of these. Basically, it’s a small, self-contained ecosystem that houses four tiny shrimp. They eat the algae that grows on the inside of their little dome and they just need some artificial light a few hours a day (perfect for the office!). Apparently they can reproduce, though that’s rare, and while their average lifespan is 2 years they can live up to 15. Holy crap! These things could still be kickin’ when I’m in my 40’s!

And yes, I’ve named them. You’re looking at Big Red, Little Red, Casper and Jacque. Actually, you’re not looking at much of anything because they swim too damn fast to get a good picture, but you get the idea (and you can see Big Red down there in the bottom right hand corner). They’re my new desk pets and I can’t seem to stop talking to them, which makes me look crazy since it appears that I’m talking to a dildo-shaped glass full of water. I feel bad leaving them here overnight but then I remember that they’re essentially sea-monkeys in a fancy container and that helps. But I’m already quite fond of them and hopeful that they have a longer lifespan than average. Apparently when one dies they others will eat him up because that’s the circle of life and that’s what I’ve got going on in this dome. And I think it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

