Like Mother Like Daughter

December 9, 2015 at 2:57 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


My momma came to visit over the weekend and of course, we had the best time. She helped me decorate our Christmas tree, we toured the ZooLights festival at the local zoo, we did a bunch of shopping and enjoyed all of the decorations that the city has to offer. We also managed to watch a few classic Christmas movies, get manicures and eat a ton of delicious food. I always have a good time when my mom comes to town but I have noticed that the older I get, the more I act just like her.

And that’s not a bad thing!

funny-comics-funny-facts-funny-jokes-funny-life-favim-com-982246

She can decorate a mean Christmas tree, too!

Case in point: my mom has always gifted my sister and I will little presents on St. Nicholas Day. A small toy, a card, some holiday stamps – this has been a tradition for as long as I can remember. This year St. Nick Day was on one of the days she was in town and we both surprised each other with gifts at exact same time – obviously, great minds think alike. Then later we went to get our manicures and each grabbed a shade of polish we liked. As we were trying to nail one down (see what I did there?), we both grabbed duplicates of the colors we already had in our hands – clearly, we should both go with our gut and our first choices in things as serious as nail polish.

I am a lucky girl in that my mom is one of my very best friends and I truly do enjoy spending time with her. I’m not sure either one of us would ever want to live together again, but our visits sure are great!  And I get to see her again in just a few short weeks for the holiday, so that’s just one more thing to look forward to. And if I can look forward to acting like her in 30 years, well…I’ll be damn lucky indeed.

Leave a Reply

