Caught Red-Handed

October 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


The entire time I’ve lived in Chicago, I’ve been very fortunate in that I’ve never really experienced any crime. I know it happens everywhere and to every type of person but I’ve been pretty lucky these past six years and for that I am grateful. I did, however, have my first crime-ish run-in last week and while it was not really serious at all, it was something.

I caught some dude stealing the tire off my bike.

Like seriously WTF

I had gone on a walk around 9pm and was on my way home when I noticed a bicycle propped up against the front of my building. That struck me as strange and ballsy since it wasn’t locked up to anything but I figured maybe someone was running in or dropping something off. Anyway I turned into my courtyard and immediately passed some guy I’d never seen before as he was carrying a bike tire away from the racks and back towards what I assume was his bike by the wall. This also struck me as odd so I immediately checked my bike and sure enough, my front tire was gone. Before I knew what I was doing, I called him out on it (this may or may not have had something to do with the beer I had at Book Club earlier that evening). I wasn’t mean or bitchy, mostly surprised and confused and I simply asked loudly if I could have my bike wheel back. He had already turned the corner and I expected him to ignore me, hop on his bike and ride off into the night but I think I surprised him as well. He kind of froze and asked what I had just said and at this point I had come up to the sidewalk (leaving the fence between us) and I asked for my wheel back once again. He actually handed it over the fence and apologized, saying he was only going to borrow it. Oh, sure, right, of course. Borrow. I was so shocked that he gave it back that I didn’t say anything else, just turned around and quickly walked inside (while making sure he wasn’t behind me, obviously). I WISH I had made some smart-ass comment about how I never gave him permission to borrow a damn thing but it’s probably for the best that I kept my mouth shut. I got my tire back and hopefully scared him away for a while, if not for good. And really, I’m just glad I happened to be walking in at the right time so I could catch him to begin with.

Now I just need to figure out how to put the stupid tire back on my bike. Maybe I should have asked him to do that too?

Leave a Reply

