My Hero!

October 16, 2015 at 3:58 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


It’s been a long week and my brain is completely, utterly through with me. This was evidenced by the fact that I dropped my wallet outside of Target in downtown Chicago today and walked far, far away without it. However, by the time I got back to my office I had an email that someone had messaged me on this here blog and that message was from a mysterious Superman who happened to find my wallet, google my name and come across this site (don’t ask me how because I don’t understand the internet). He wasn’t exactly sure he had the right person but had turned in my wallet to Target anyway and wanted to let me know. Guy, if you’re reading this, I will buy you a drink or a taco or a cape and Superman t-shirt because you seriously saved my ass.

Also, THIS HAS COMPLETELY REAFFIRMED MY FAITH IN HUMANITY!

I think I need to go home and hide under my covers for the rest of the day.

Seriously. This area of downtown is full of tourists and also known for panhandlers and homeless people so I’m extremely lucky someone didn’t just plain steal my stuff. I told the guy that I hope karma repays him with wonderful things and I absolutely mean that. I have never, until today, lost a wallet and I don’t even know how I would go about trying to fix my life if mine hadn’t been found. I know Chicago sometimes gets a bad rap as a dangerous place but there are still good people out there who look out for the strangers that share their city. And you can be sure I’ll be looking for ways to pay this forward in the near future.

Thanks again to my stranger savior and hell, thanks to WordPress for giving me a place that somehow linked us together. I guess my blogging isn’t so pointless after all!

Leave a Reply

