Now We’re Cooking

October 5, 2015 at 2:23 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


As I mentioned in the last post, I attended my first ever cooking class on Friday afternoon. And I didn’t cut off any body parts – mine or anyone else’s! This is especially impressive given I had a few glasses of wine during the process. The entire event was really fun and they made it as fool-proof as possible for us in that most things were prepped and ready to go when we arrived. Even the fully stocked bar! I did learn some things during the class, including some cutting techniques which I’d never used before but actually work. Also, according to our chef, the only knives you need in a kitchen are a butcher knife, paring knife and serrated knife for bread. I have many more than that but it’s good to know I can downsize with no problem!

This could be me. Easy.

As for the food we created, it was all delicious and there’s probably not a chance in hell that I’ll ever be able to recreate it. My group was all vegetarian friendly (lucky me!) and we made black bean quesadillas with some sort of sour cream/chipotle sauce. We also made wontons full of cabbage, shredded carrot and other veggies with a hosin dipping sauce. I even learned how to pinch the wontons together to make that nice crinkled edge they all have! Please note that I said I learned how to do it. Recreating it myself was a different story entirely.

I think I’d like to take another cooking class at some point – maybe it’s a good date night idea? We ended up with a ton of food and I spent the rest of the day in a food coma, which is a perfectly wonderful way to spend a Friday. Actually, maybe taking another class is a bad idea…if I really figure out what I’m doing in the kitchen, I may get so fat that I need to be rolled out!

Leave a Reply

