Truckin’

September 30, 2015 at 4:33 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I came across this scene the other night on my walk home.

  
In case you can’t tell, this is a huge truck full of chairs, couches, video game consoles, controllers and screaming, deliriously happy children. Apparently you can rent these things to park on your street while whoever you deem fit to join you plays all sorts of video games on large screen TV’s. I stopped in wonder and asked a nearby woman what in the heck was going on and she said they had rented it for their son’s birthday party. Sure enough, there were tables full of pizza and snacks sitting behind me (at like 8pm on a Tuesday evening, which I found weird but whatever I’m not a parent and I’m sure the trucks are way more expensive on weekends). Anyway the noises coming from inside the truck assured me the children were either having the time of their lives or viciously torturing small animals and since the mom in charge didn’t seem too concerned, I’m assuming it was the former. It seemed like fun to me and I wanted to get closer and check it out but I didn’t want to look like some creepy child-stealing person so I just backed up slowly and walked away. I was tempted to steal some pizza as I left because I figured my gift to the birthday boy could be a lesson in the school of hard knocks but I didn’t, mostly because the video game truck had wheels (obviously) and I didn’t want it to run me down.

If it held me hostage, though – well that could be a different story. Either way, I know what I want for my next birthday!

Leave a Reply

