Pontoon Party!

September 22, 2015 at 3:20 pm (Uncategorized)


I recently redeemed a Groupon coupon I purchased back in April (when it was cold and miserable and the thought of being on a boat was too good to pass up) and I spent Sunday evening lounging on a pontoon boat with my lovely fiance and a few of our closest friends. I sort of dropped the ball when it came to actually scheduling our sail date and all of the good times (read: times not at 2pm on a Tuesday) were taken when I tried to get mine set. However, Sunday evening was open and it worked out that it was one of the nicest days of the entire weekend! It also turned into a sunset cruise, which was a little sad because it means the sun is setting sooner now but it sure was pretty to be out on the lake while it was setting.

 

Sweet Home Chicago

 
I’m lucky in that my friend’s boyfriend knew how to drive a pontoon because when I tried myself, I immediately realized I would be better off sitting back and drinking wine instead of trying to navigate a small vessel. Who knew that the Chicago River would be so crowded with tour ships/other boats/kayakers on a Sunday evening? I attempted to drive for all of .25 seconds before turning the wheel back over and I didn’t regret it for a minute. Scott took over for the last half of the ride and I happily munched on snacks, drank my wine and enjoyed both my friends and the beautiful skyline. It was a pretty spectacular way to wind down the summer and it reminded me why I put up with the hellish winters to begin with. Because our city sure is pretty!

Leave a Reply

