Planning It

May 18, 2015 at 6:10 pm (Uncategorized) ()


I’m a little bit of an organizational freak. I like to have every bit of information pertaining to my life and schedule that I may ever need constantly at my fingertips because I’m like a Boy Scout and I like to be prepared. This is a trait I’ve had for a while and was highlighted when my sister got into her first car wreck, which happened the morning of September 11, 2001. We thought that was going to be the craziest part of our day but boy were we mistaken. That morning on the way to school, she was involved in an unfortunate collision with a huge mailbox and she totaled her car. She was fine but the school bus driver who witnessed everything and called my mom and I (as I was about to leave for school myself) was understandably unnerved. Mom and I drove a couple of blocks to the scene and chaos ensued but I was able to calm things at least a little with my overly prepared nature. I had a planner which had the phone numbers to our school and our dad’s new office, as he started a new job that very day and this was in the age before everyone carried a cell phone. We were able to alert everyone who needed to be alerted and things regained some sense of normalcy, at least until later that morning when everything else changed for good. Anyway, the point is I like to be organized and I like to write in notebooks.

Organized chaos, my bread and butter.

For the last few years, I’ve been using handmade journals that a friend of mine creates as little mini-planners. They’re all blank on the inside and it worked well as I typically had lots of notes and things in addition to my schedule. However, lately I’ve been so busy and involved in so many projects that I had to keep track of things going on in the more distant future, so I started using a huge desk calendar at my office. Before I knew it I had four separate calendars going and I was slowly driving myself very insane. SO – I went to the magical land of Target and remedied the situation once and for all. I am now in possession of an actual, grown-up planner with monthly calendars and everything!

I may or may not have been inspired by one of my bosses, who is a super powerful woman at our company and carries around a small leather planner at all times. Mine is a bit more…retro…than hers but she’s got a good 25 years on me so I think that’s okay. Having everything I have to do in one place has given me such huge feelings of relief, cohesion, responsibility and control that I can’t believe I didn’t do this sooner. I realize this may sound super-duper lame and you probably can’t appreciate a word of what I’m saying unless you’re as much of an organizational freak as I am but this simple planner has really tied my life together. Much like a rug in a really great film.

However, if I lose it I may just lose my mind. Here’s hoping my organized nature never lets that happen! Though maybe I better back all of this up in another planner just to be safe…

Leave a Reply

