The Good, The Bad and The Tasty

May 3, 2015 at 2:33 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


 

 

Um yum!

My favorite sushi place is closing.

You may wonder how a vegetarian has a favorite sushi place so let me tell you about Grand Katachi. This unassuming restaurant is between my apartment and the el so I pass it at least two times every day. Their décor featured everything from anime porcelain dolls to a pond of koi fish to a stuffed Tweety Bird in a cage, so I obviously appreciated it. They also offered a very good selection of vegetarian sushi rolls, including avocado and cream cheese and sweet potato. Plus it was a BYOB place and what’s not to like about that? Anyway, Scott and I have made this our go-to sushi place and we have had some great meals there. In fact, it’s where I had my birthday dinner just last year! We’ve brought friends and family there and, as far as I know, everyone always had a tasty time. And now they’re closing, with more no notice than a handmade sign on their door that reads “Closing, thank you for the support”. I couldn’t believe it when I saw it two days ago and went into mourning right away. However, life must move on and so must decent restaurant spaces. I walked by again last night and there’s a sign advertising the place moving in and – GUYS – it’s a Vegetarian Express!  AN ACTUAL COMPLETELY VEGETARIAN RESTAURANT WITHIN MINUTES OF MY FRONT DOOR! AND THEY DELIVER SO I DON’T EVEN HAVE TO LEAVE THE HOUSE OR PUT ON PANTS!!! I was on the phone with my mom when I passed by and I stopped to do a happy dance on the sidewalk. She thought I was having a seizure or something but my joy just could not be contained!

But this is going to be a problem. There is actually already a Vegetarian Express not terribly far away and Scott and I have been there many times as well. Their sandwiches are amazing, their guacamole is handmade right in front of you and they have a juice bar with more selections than a Starbucks. It also delivers but we’re just outside of the right radius so we’ve limited our trips to when we’re in that area. But now, with one so close? I’ll basically be moving in. And also subjecting anyone and everyone to meals in the glorious company of seitan and tofu goodness. In the event I have no takers, I’ll just have to eat all of their food myself. Luckily there are still a couple of sushi places within walking distance so I guess we’ll just have to try them out. But honestly, with the Vegetarian Express right there I may never eat anywhere else again!

Leave a Reply

