Wedding Woes

March 4, 2015 at 9:00 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Why is planning a party so damn difficult?

I’ve come off my engagement high and have kinda, sorta started thinking about maybe beginning to plan the big day itself. I want something reasonably priced that will allow Scott and I to show up, eat, drink, dance and have some photos taken. With 100-150 of our closest friends and family, of course. Is this too much to ask? Apparently so.

Not going to lie, I’m a little overwhelmed by the whole process and an elopement sounds pretty good. But not really. I’ve decided that it’s important for me to invite our loved ones out to celebrate our love and if a bit of a headache between now and then is the price I have to pay, so be it. Of course, the REAL price I have to pay will be a whole lot more than just a headache but whatever. It’s something that’s only happening once in our lifetimes (hopefully) so we might as well have some fun!

This is…not my dress.

I have checked one thing off my list though – my dress! I went to David’s Bridal with my mom, sister and cousin when I was home a few weeks ago and did some testing of the waters. I tried on maybe five or six dresses but one my mom picked won out because we all got teary-eyed when I came out of the dressing room, I felt beautiful AND it was on clearance! Score! Since that was so easy I’m hoping the rest of this planning process is as well but after looking at a few venues and prices, I’m not so sure.

That said, I’m taking suggestions! If you’ve done this whole wedding thing, what can you tell me? What was important that you forgot about or what did you stress over that didn’t end up mattering? Should we just run away to Vegas in my pretty dress and call it a day? Or can I maintain the patience of a saint and read the minds of all these vendors to see who’s trying to screw me over?

I can tell you this – the wedding will have booze. And maybe nothing else, other than Scott and I sitting on the floor, all dressed up and no music to listen to because choosing a DJ is just too much work. Bring your disposable cameras and get ready for some fun!

Leave a Reply

