Year in Review

January 3, 2015 at 7:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


The good:

  • New job! This time last year, I was frantically job searching and by the end of February I had landed my current position, which happens to be the best I’ve ever had. What a difference a year makes!
  • Other new job! I began working as a temporary employee of the Field Museum and taught dozens of groups of Boy Scouts all about archaeology. And I got a paycheck!
  • Scott’s back in school! His career is taking a different direction as well and he did very well in his first semester back in class. I’m extremely proud of him but also extremely glad he’s the one dealing with teachers and study sessions, not me.
  • My vacation! My solo adventure to Vancouver/San Diego was a huge highlight in the past year and one of the best trips I’ve ever taken.
  • Babies! None of them mine! Dear friends and family members produced new little people this year and it’s been very exciting to watch them grow. And then leave them behind while I go home to my kid-free apartment.
  • Haircut! I finally quit talking about it and cut off 10 inches of my hair to donate to Pantene Lengths. My scalp has been grateful ever since.
  • Loved ones! They’re all still relatively happy and healthy and I am SO SO thankful for that!

The bad:

  • While all of my loved ones are still around, some of them have spent some time in the hospital. My uncle/godfather is still in the hospital and to be quite honest, he may never come out. I did see him over Christmas though and I’m thankful for that.
  • Um…wow. That’s all I can think of. Apparently 2014 was very good to me!

Um, yes.

And now, some 2014 numbers:

  • I went on about 24 job interviews before landing my current position. I was offered two other jobs first but held out for something I felt really good about – and it worked!
  • I attended 3 weddings. All of them were in June and I was a bridesmaid in 2 of the 3.
  • I know 7 babies who were born. Zero of them came from my vagina.
  • I saw 2 movies in the theater. They were Gravity and The Budapest Hotel.
  • I read 28 books. At least 8 of them I had already read before. Also, some of them were very long.
  • I volunteered roughly 50 hours at the Food Pantry and 77 hours at the Field Museum.
  • I went to the gym 213 times. True story.

That’s a wrap! I sure had a damn good year and I’m looking forward to what 2015 will bring – if it’s more of the same as last year, I think I’ll be alright!

Leave a Reply

