Instituting the Institute

November 15, 2014 at 4:47 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


I have a confession. I’m not always the best of taking advantage of the special perks and benefits the wonderful city of Chicago has to offer and it sometimes embarrasses me. For instance, I’ve really only been to the Art Institute a handful of times, which is in no way enough to get a glimpse of all they have to offer there, let alone fully appreciate it. Chicago is full of amazing museums and cultural institutions and sometimes I let all of my involvement at the Field wear me out (in a good way, of course!) to the point where I don’t get to enjoy anything else. This is particularly inexcusable because one of the benefits of my volunteering at one of Chicago’s museums is that I can typically use my badge to get into all of the museums. So, this week I decided to finally get some use out of it!

What is this, a room for ants?  Actually, it sort of is.

What is this, a room for ants? Actually, it sort of is.

I get an hour for lunch each day and I can walk to the Art Institute in roughly 10 minutes (yay for powerwalking). I did this yesterday and had plenty of time to check out an entire exhibit while on my break, then I simply walked back to the office with a headful of beautiful images. The exhibit I visited was the Thorne Miniature Room and it was full of displays of various rooms, all the size of dollhouses. It basically took a room from a specific time period and specific place and put it on display. From rooms representing dining halls and bedrooms in England two hundred years ago and showcases featuring living rooms and parlors in the United States sixty years ago, there was plenty to look at. I’ve always been fascinated with tiny furniture and accessories and the detail in these designs was simply astonishing. You can see from the photo that it looks like an actual room – I sent Scott one of these pictures and before I explained what it was, he asked if I got to sit in the room – clearly they look like the real thing.

It was a super cool way to spend my lunch hour and I’ve got a guide to the entire Institute now so I plan on going back frequently to peruse just about everything I can. Sure beats sitting in the cafeteria for an hour!

Leave a Reply

