Coffee Break

November 11, 2014 at 9:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


Guys, I think I have a problem. The problem’s name is coffee.

Check.

I never really bothered with coffee until I was well out of college, which is kind of surprising when you think about it. Especially considering how I spent four years in high school working at Dairy Queen, where I would go in to prep and open the store at like 5:30am on the weekends. Of course, this was after I’d spend Friday and Saturday night staying up WAY too late, so obviously I would walk into work quite tired. Yet try as I might, I could never get the hang of drinking coffee. I figured this was actually a blessing in disguise and didn’t really think much more of it and that trend continued throughout college. There were times when I would try yet again to drink coffee to help me stay up late and study but I just couldn’t get into it so I figured I never would.

Oh, how wrong I was.

When I started my first real grown-up job out of college, I was the one who opened the office every day and thus, made the coffee. Without the excitement of flipping burgers or floundering through difficult math problems, I quickly realized that sitting at a desk for 8 or 9 hours every day could be damn tiring. So I tried the whole coffee thing again and realized I could now actually choke it down. Once I discovered fancy creamers and tons of sugar, it was over. Over the last few years I’ve allowed myself a cup or so throughout the day but at my current job I sit right next to the coffee room and it’s just too easy. I’m still only allowing myself like two cups a day but isn’t this how it starts? Will I be mainlining coffee before I know it and quit drinking water entirely? Will I bathe in it? I’m too cheap to spend any of my own money on this newfound addiction (unless it’s the weekend – then all bets are off) so I now have various mugs and cups littering my desk and a craving every morning and afternoon. I guess it’s better than say, a heroin addiction or something, so I’ve got that going for me at least. And two cups a day isn’t horrible.

Though a third cup does sound pretty good…

Leave a Reply

