A Diamond in the Rough

September 23, 2014 at 7:42 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Ok so the neighborhoods in my area aren’t exactly rough but Scott and I wandered into a small, super awesome CD/record/book/movie store called Laurie’s Planet of Sound over the weekend and I started kicking myself for not having gone in there sooner.

"Someone blows their nose and you want to keep it? "

“Someone blows their nose and you want to keep it? “

All of the DVD and VHS movies were fairly obscure and cultish, which only added to the allure of the place.  I found this fantastic looking film starring my forever-crush Michael J. Fox alongside Joan Jett that not even Netflix carries, so you know it’s a rarity.

I did an image search for that jean jacket and didn’t find my poster, but I did find this. Oh, Alex P. Keaton.

Considering how I used to have a giant poster of Mr. Fox wearing a denim jacket on my bedroom wall, you’d have thought this movie would be coming home with me.  Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my wallet (in an effort to curb frivolous spending…and damn if it didn’t work) and Scott only had a few bucks on him.  That wasn’t enough for the movie but it WAS enough for the sweet Peter Venkman patch you see above.  For those of you living in the dark ages, Venkman was Bill Murray’s character in Ghostbusters and he was a sweet, cynical bastard.  Just like many Chicagoans.  I had Scott get the patch because it will nicely adorn the backpack I’ll be using on my upcoming trip – the backpack was a welcome gift from my company and it’s very large and durable but has their name stitched across the front.  I’m not embarrassed or anything like that but would rather people not associate the girl camping out in a hostel and wandering around Vancouver on her own with a financial investment firm because hey, it’s not like I have that kind of money.  So the patch will cover that up perfectly AND differentiate my black backpack from the multitude of others out there.  Luckily, there’s only four women to my hostel room so the luggage can’t be that deceiving.

There were some other cool finds at this place, such as an old TV show called On the Air by David Lynch and a massive Pink Flamingos poster that almost rivaled the denim Michael J. Fox one of days gone by.  Almost.

By the way – Mom?  Could you look between the wall next to the closet in my old room and the big brown dresser?  I’m hoping against hope that the magical poster is still there.  I’m sure Scott would totally love having that in our bedroom!

Leave a Reply

