Cut It Out

September 11, 2014 at 7:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Well, it’s gone.  My hair, that is.

Waaaay back in 2007, I had my hair shaped into a pixie cut before I went to study for a month in Africa.  I did this because I figured it would be hot and short hair would be much easier to deal with.  It certainly was easier to deal with but I didn’t take into account the whole ‘other hemisphere’ thing and it was actually winter in Africa when we got there.  As in, I saw snow – in Africa.  So I bought a hat and dealt with it.

My sister said this looks like a redneck's rat tail.  I can't say I disagree.

My sister said this looks like a redneck’s rat tail. I can’t say I disagree.

I kept it shortish for a while and then started to grow it out in earnest a few years ago.  I’d still get regular trims and what not but I really just let it go and the end result was me having the longest hair I’d ever had in my life.  It was halfway down my back and basically covered my boobs (disclaimer: they are fairly small and perky).  I liked having long hair and thought it looked nice most of the time, but it involved a LOT of work.  If I wanted to blow-dry and straighten it I could count on it tacking on an additional 15 to 20 minutes in my getting-ready process, which essentially doubled the time I spent putting myself together.  And so that wasn’t exactly fun.  There were plenty of other downsides, too – there was hair all over the apartment (like, everywhere), I would roll over on it accidentally in bed and it was just a pain in the ass.  Scott would also unintentionally yank my entire head back when he’d put his arm around me on the couch and that wasn’t comfortable for either one of us.  I wanted to cut it a while ago but decided that since I had come so far, I might as well grow it long enough to donate.  And that’s just what I did!

I chose Pantene Beautiful Lengths  to be the recipient of my chopped ponytail because they seem like a smaller, better-run organization than that other behemoth, Locks of Love.  I was going to link to an article in Forbes about the mismanagement of donations to Locks of Love but for some reason the linking feature on this blog isn’t working properly, so just Google it if you’re interested.  To be perfectly honest I haven’t mailed my hair off yet and it’s sitting in an envelope in a purse of mine – I should probably get on that.  Pantene only required 8 inches to donate but I went ahead and gave 10 for good measure and I really hope that it helps someone who needs it more than I do.  Either way, I’m glad to be rid of it!

I’ll probably get tired of shorter hair sooner or later and grow it out again but the good thing about hair is just that – it’ll grow back.  It’s already easier to maintain and it doesn’t look half bad, either.  I’ve been told I look more like my sister now but considering how I spent 20 minutes talking to an aunt at that family yard sale last weekend before she realized I wasn’t my sister (this was pre-haircut), I don’t think a different length will change that much.  And this aunt doesn’t even drink!  All of the women in our family bear a strong resemblance to one another though so I guess I understand.  I guess.  However, now that I don’t have to refrain from dying my hair for donation purposes, perhaps I’ll just color it purple so I can really stand out from the crowd!

 

Leave a Reply

