Ice Ice Baby

September 2, 2014 at 8:14 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Over the weekend, I was nominated for the Ice Bucket Challenge.  I’m not going to do it.  It’s not that I think the Challenge is bad; in fact I really think it’s great that people are getting so involved.  I had a teacher in Jr. High who was diagnosed with ALS (aka Lou Gehrig’s disease) and it was horrible to watch her steadily decline – I’m no stranger to how awful this disease is and the recognition and money that have been raised over the last month or so is truly, majorly impressive.  I just don’t want to be guilt tripped over social media into giving money to something when I think there many other organizations out there that deserve my attention just as much.

Food for Thought

I don’t really talk about this on Facebook (and only sometimes on this blog) but I’ve been volunteering at a food pantry in my neighborhood for five years.  Hell, I’m even featured in a video on their website.  I’m typically there two Wednesday evenings a month for a couple of hours each time and I basically help pass out groceries to the low-income families and the homeless men and women who live in our backyard (well, not literally because I don’t have a backyard but you know what I mean).  I’ve donated time and money to this organization because I don’t believe anyone should go hungry and I think the fact that there are starving people in our own country (or any country) is downright wrong.  I enjoy volunteering with the pantry because I see tangible results on a day-to-day basis.  Again, this isn’t saying that being drenched in freezing cold water and posting videos to raise awareness is wrong, but it’s not my way of doing things.  Also, I really don’t want to be drenched in freezing cold water.

I would like to see these viral videos take off for other charities though and maybe if I’m creative enough I can help with that.  Perhaps I should dive into a swarm of bees to raise awareness about how they’re all dying out?  Or maybe I can douse myself with gasoline to protest big oil companies (I think the models in Zoolander would get behind me here).  Chances are, though, I’ll just stick with what I’ve been doing for years and make a difference in my own small way.  That’s what it’s all about, right?

Leave a Reply

