Infusion Confusion

August 10, 2014 at 12:11 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


Okay, so the whole idea behind infused water isn’t really that confusing but I wanted a rhyme.

In my ongoing effort to stay healthy, hydrated and well – alive, I recently purchased an infusion water pitcher.  I drink a lot of water in general but sometimes I crave some flavor and tea doesn’t always cut it. A woman I worked with told me about this infusion pitcher and after searching the web for some quick and easy recipes (thanks, Buzzfeed), I decided to go for it.  And I’m pretty glad I did!

This is exactly what mine looks like, only full of delicious strawberry infused water.

Basically, there’s a mesh plastic tube that goes in the pitcher and you can dump whatever fruit you fancy into that to get started.  I decided my inaugural run would involve strawberries and basil, basically because strawberries were on sale and I have basil growing on my back porch.  I filled the little plastic mesh tube thingy (it has a real name but my made-up name works just as well) with the fruit and the basil, then used the joystick that came with to mash it all up.  After that I filled the pitcher with water and let it sit for a few minutes (i.e. infusing).  Then I removed the tube thingy and replaced it with a different plastic tube thingy designed to help keep everything cold.  And voila!  Water with just the right hint of strawberries and basil.  Yum!

The pitcher is relatively small and sits next to our Brita, which has been slightly ignored since the new guy came to town, I mean the fridge.  Apparently I can make sangria and mojitos with this thing too, though I haven’t busted out the booze quite yet.  Don’t worry though – that’s coming.  Until then I’ll be enjoying my strawberry flavored water and looking up new recipes!

Leave a Reply

