If I Had a Garden…

July 14, 2014 at 6:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


…I would eat stuff like this every night:

Top Chef, here I come.  To watch.

Top Chef, here I come. To watch.

I would seriously love to have a garden.  I would grow leafy greens, tomatoes, peas, zucchini, peppers, all kinds of herbs and just about anything else I could keep alive.  I think it would be fun to get my hands dirty and I know I would really appreciate eating produce that I produced myself.  Unfortunately, city living doesn’t provide many opportunities for being a farmer.  There are shared plots I could purchase but none of them are super convenient to home and let’s be real here – if it’s not literally in my backyard, I’m not going to maintain it.  So I settle for buying my produce like all of the other city folk while looking upon every garden I see while being green with envy.

But!  During my last trip home in June, my mom sent Scott and I back up to Chicago with a little herb planter we can keep on our back porch (when I say porch, I mean stoop…you can fit a chair and a few plants but that’s about it).  So we now have fresh herbs, which I kinda sorta forget are out there but I’ve been trying to incorporate into my meals when I happen to remember.  Then yesterday I had a brilliant idea while doing my Sunday Funday grocery shopping – buy some cheese!  I had tomatoes at home and of course fresh basil, so I created the above dish as an appetizer to my pasta meal.  It was pretty dang delicious and if mozzarella was a little healthier I would’ve had it for breakfast and dinner tonight too.

Surely stuff like this can keep me happy until I either live in a place where I can have a garden of my own or until technology allows me to grow produce on the side of a brick building, right?  Well, we’ll see.  In the meantime I’ll be eating better tasting foods and enjoying some homemade pesto, too.  Now if I could figure out how to grow chocolate chip cookies in that herb planter, I’d be all set!

Leave a Reply

