Beer Me!

July 13, 2014 at 6:35 pm (Uncategorized)


Why yes, I think I will

Why yes, I think I will

As I mentioned in my last post, my mom was here last weekend and during her stay I treated us to manicures and pedicures.  We went in the early afternoon on July 4th but the salon had a bit of a wait so we had about 30 minutes to kill.  The salon is right next door to the new Mariano’s I know I’ve blogged about so we decided to go inside and get a beer while we waited.  Sure is convenient when the grocery has a bar with full band just sitting at your disposal!

The beers were decently priced ($3 for a domestic bottle or $5 for a craft draft) and the bartender was attentive without being annoying.  As we sat down and ordered, he pulled out a few dishes with some snacks for us to munch on, free of charge.  They included some delicious cheese cubes, pita crackers and a bunch of olives.  They also gave us samples with a very generous pour, so that was a plus.  I don’t even get that kind of service at some of the snooty hoity-toity bars in the neighborhood, where you’re lucky if you find a half-empty dish of some peanuts or pretzels that have been sitting out for way too long.  The snacks and the beer were more than enough to keep us entertained while we waited for our appointment time and even though I’ve always thought it was kind of silly to drink and “hang out” at the grocery store, that experience did give me another view to consider.  It may not be a place I’d like to spend a Saturday night but for a quick brew and some people watching, it did the trick!

Leave a Reply

