Fantastic Fourth

July 8, 2014 at 8:21 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


Man, I love my mom.

She came up for a visit this past weekend and from Thursday evening until Monday afternoon, I got to enjoy her company.  We managed to do all kinds of things in that time, including but not limited to:

  • Drinking beer while shopping at the grocery store
  • Grocery store shopping a record of four times in four days (we didn’t drink each time, I promise)

    I'm not super religious but God this is beautiful

    I’m not super religious but God this is beautiful

  • Enjoying home-cooked dinner and breakfast (gotta love pancakes!)
  • Pampering ourselves with professional manicures and pedicures
  • Imbibing in beer at Hopleaf, a very well-known Chicago tavern
  • Watching three hours of fireworks at the park down the street from my apartment (okay, we watched for about an hour and a half while we enjoyed a huge picnic.  The fireworks went on much longer than that but since those shooting them off were drunk and sloppy by that point, we packed up and headed home)
  • Walking through The Field Museum, ate Chicago hot dogs (veggie for me), took a water taxi across Lake Michigan and wandered through the Stained Glass Museum on Navy Pier
  • Eating a meal at Bad Apple, another awesome Chicago restaurant
  • Sunday brunching at a bar by my place while enjoying their unlimited Bloody Mary Bar
  • Visiting with a friend of mine who recently had a baby and agreed that, while he’s cute as hell, it’s probably good I don’t have one
  • Watching the following movies (not in a row): Hunger Games Mockingjay, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and Major League (thanks, Netflix!)
  • Reviving the plants I had that were dying a slow and sad death
  • Walking all over my neighborhood and all those that surround me
  • Talking – lots and lots of talking (just ask Scott!)

Mom hasn’t been up here for a visit for at least a year so this was kind of a big deal.  I had an absolute blast with her and wish she could’ve stayed longer but alas, the real world doesn’t stop just because I want to spend some time with my momma.  We had the best time ever though and that’ll have to hold us over until I go home again later this summer.  It was seriously a perfect long weekend – great weather, great company and a great visit.  Thanks, Mom!

1 Comment

  1. The Mommy said,

    Thank YOU sweet girl😘. Had the best time ever. It couldn’t have been a better 4th of July. Miss you already😢

Leave a Reply

