The Perks of Not Being a Wallflower

June 16, 2014 at 8:08 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Sweet Home Chicago

Sweet Home Chicago

I’m definitely still loving my new job.  There are all kinds of little perks here and there and anyone who’s worked for a company that treats their employees well knows how much all of that adds up.  For instance, I’ve never worked for a place that had any sort of company-paid-for work event (that includes holidays parties) and my new company has at least a few a year.  Score!  The first such event took place this past Saturday, where all employees in my department were treated to an evening at The Shedd Aquarium.

Beluga Whale!

Super flexible Beluga Whale!

Families and friends were welcome too so there were lots of super excited children running around, but not near as many as are there on any given day when the building is open to the public, so it wasn’t too overwhelming for those of us who are child-free.  We got to see whales, dolphins and just about every fish you can think of while enjoying cocktails and appetizers until the main courses were served.  There were five or six tables set up buffet-style and each featured cuisine from a different Chicago neighborhood.  I ate well beyond the point of being full but it was just so good.  There were pies, popcorn and pretzels for dessert and photo booths and face painting to keep you entertained if you got bored with the fish.  The whole evening culminated in fireworks (put on by the City over Navy Pier every Saturday night – we were just in the right place at the right time, with an amazing view) and after all was said and done Scott and I simply hopped the el back to our place.

That was a whole other experience in and of itself – there was a music festival called the Spring Awakening Festival going on at Soldier Field all weekend and the people who attended that were…interesting.  From what I gather, the festival played a bunch of rave type music that I guess I’m just too damn old to appreciate.  Scott and I were caught in the wave of people making their way to Museum Campus on our way to the Shedd and we felt like some ancient couple among all the whippersnappers who were wearing cropped shirts or bras with their super short shorts and glitter face paint.

Get off my lawn!

Get off my lawn!

We also walked past some groups who were blatantly pre-gaming by smoking a bunch of pot right by the lake…it wasn’t exactly surprising but we found it funny that this was happening as all of the bankers I work with were bringing their children through the thick of everything for our own event.  Everyone looked like they were on their way to some club and I guess that’s what Soldier Field turned into while we were at the Aquarium.  They were a…boisterous…bunch and their concert ended right when our evening did so we were back in the crowds on our way home.  The trains were full of these kids and while I initially tried to spend some time figuring out just what the hell they were wearing, I eventually gave up.  I’m getting too old for that shit (Danny Glover, feel my pain).

I guess my busy weeks and weekends finally caught up with me because, while I had the best of intentions of going to the gym on Sunday, I took a huge nap and ate a bunch of junk food instead.  And it was glorious.  That was the first day, weekend or otherwise, that I’ve had to myself since the first week of April and I won’t get another until sometime mid-July.  Everything has been good though (i.e. weddings and baby showers instead of hospital visits and jury duty) but it still wears a girl out!  This weekend I’m standing in another out-of-town wedding but I’m pretty sure it’ll go just as smoothly as the last one I was in.  So long as I don’t throw out any important receipts at gas stations, that is.

Leave a Reply

