Close But No Cigar

June 3, 2014 at 6:57 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


On Friday night, I happened to be in the right place at the right time and I think I saved prom for two stressed out teenagers.

Hopefully they made it.

I had an event for kids and families that I was working at The Field Museum and I finished up at about 9pm.  As I walked around the front of the building waiting for Scott to come pick me up, I noticed a car pull up and stop.  Two very dressed up teenagers got out (the girl was carrying a bouquet of flowers) and they ran up the steps towards the front of the building.  Another, older, man got out of the car to watch and I could tell he was dressed up as well.  I thought perhaps the kids wanted a photo or two in front of the museum and as I passed the man I commented on how nice they looked.  He said they were going to a prom at the Shedd Aquarium and since the Shedd is basically next door to the Field, I still didn’t think much of it.  We chit-chatted for a moment (he was the chauffer for his son and his son’s date) and then I realized the kids were trying to get in the front door of the Field.  Since the Field was full of small children running around making arts and crafts and taking photos of dinosaurs, I figured something was off.  I told the man they wouldn’t be able to enter the museum due to a kid’s event and that’s when he looked panicked.  He had apparently gotten confused on which museum was which and the poor kids who were expecting a prom got a locked front door (and they were about to get security) instead.  He immediately started yelling and waving at them, telling them to hurry up and get back in the car because they were already late.  I gave him directions to the right museum and he thanked me profusely, saying he was so glad we started talking because they never would’ve figured it out.  I felt like a superhero and watched like a fairy godmother as they sped off in the right direction.  Here’s hoping the rest of their prom went smoothly and was full of dancing, laughter and an age-appropriate amount of partying and fondling!

Leave a Reply

