Mommy Dearest

May 11, 2014 at 5:37 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Man, I know a lot of women who have kids.  Besides the wonderful grandmothers, aunts and cousins in my life who are all fantastic mothers, more and more of my friends now fall into that category too.  I think they’re all pretty amazing because they all have what I consider the hardest job in the world.  I’ve yet to decide one way or the other if I’ll ever join that club because while they all make it seem like it’s something that comes naturally and is the greatest job in the world, it kinda sorta scares the hell out of me.

Even though the Moms in my life are all inspiring and awesome in their own ways, I’m especially grateful for the particular woman I call Mom.

Thanks for everything, Mom!

I wish I could’ve spent some time with her today but I’ll be seeing her three times in the next few months so I’ll have plenty of time to show her my appreciation then.  My sister got to spend the day with Mom though so she at least had a consolation prize (ha).  We really did luck out with our mom because she’s honestly the woman I still want to grow up to be.  I wouldn’t be who I am or where I am in life without her guidance, advice and support.  She’s also one of my best friends – I probably spend more time on the phone with her than with anyone else I know (Scott can attest to that!).  She can always calm me down or cheer me up when I’m upset or having a bad day and anytime I get good or bad news she’s the first person I think to call.  She lives her life in a way that I hope I’m still living mine in 3o years and she’s got more balls than all of the Chicago Bears combined.  She’s the reason I’m here and I really don’t know what I would do without her.

So Happy Mother’s Day to my Mommy.  If I ever wind up being just half the mother you’ve been then I will consider myself a success indeed.  I love you, I miss you and I will see you in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

