Meat is No Treat

May 4, 2014 at 5:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


In the past three weeks, I’ve accidentally eaten meat three different times.  As a vegetarian for more than 15 years, this disturbs me.  Is the universe trying to tell me something?  Do animals really want me to eat them?  Or am I, in my old age, just getting too lax in the checking of my food for flesh particles?  I don’t know the answer but I will say that I’m going to try to kick this trend to the curb.

The first time this happened was at a Mexican restaurant with my mom and Scott over Easter weekend.  I had ordered some deep fried chili thing full of cheese and I was halfway through it before I noticed that it also held a substantial amount of chicken for it to be a veggie combo.  I don’t think I actually ate much but I was none too pleased.  I didn’t make a scene or anything but I did nicely let the manager know of the situation and they comped my meal while also giving me something actually vegetarian to take home for later.  So I still came out ahead.

A few days later, our office had catering brought to the office for lunch.  I, trying to prevent another meat laden meal, asked what specifically was vegetarian.  There were a few salads and pastas so I happily loaded my plate and went back to my desk.  Then I realized the pasta had sausage in it and the salad was full of bacon.  At least I didn’t really eat much of that and hey, it was free too so I can’t really complain.

I identify with this episode a little too well.

Then I went to a surprise baby shower this weekend for a former coworker, at the home of my old boss, the guy who owned the company that went out of business last year.  He started a new firm and his 1.6 million dollar home shows he isn’t hurting, but that’s another story.  It was kind of an awkward night but there was lots of beer and homemade Mexican food so I was able to distract myself.  I was thoroughly enjoying the guacamole when Scott informed me that he just found out that it contained bacon.  Well, shit.  Who puts bacon in guacamole?  I don’t think I’ve experienced such a thing – I thought it full of tomatoes.  So apparently I’m an idiot as well as a lousy vegetarian.  Thankfully, the beer helped ease my pain.

I didn’t get sick after any of these instances and I’ve honestly been trying not to dwell on them but man, I think I’ve eaten meat more on accident in the last month than in the whole time I’ve been a vegetarian.  What is up with that?  And can it just go ahead and stop already?  I’m not trying to sound prissy or like a drama queen but I really don’t like it.  It’s just not my thing, which is why I quit eating it to begin with.  I think it’s yucky and I want it to stay out of my pie-hole.

I’m making a homemade pizza tonight and I have some vegetarian pepperoni to use as a topping.  At least, the packaging said it was vegetarian.  I’m not sure what I believe anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

