My Mom is the Best Mom

March 11, 2014 at 9:07 pm (Uncategorized)


So, our new bed is amazing.  As in, sleep-like-a-rock, never-wanna-get-up amazing.  I almost wish we had bought it back when I was still unemployed so I could spend all day, every day enjoying its comfort but I couldn’t have afforded it without being employed, so it was kind of a vicious cycle.  Anyway, the bed rocks.

Even if she is a sneaky woman.

As Scott and I set it up on Sunday afternoon, we found a set of clean sheets that we hadn’t used in a while.  I had received a newer set for Christmas and we’d been sleeping on those (don’t worry, they were washed regularly) so the older set was put away.  The main reason for this is that the older set had a huge tear in one corner of the cover sheet from where (I assume) Scott tossed and turned all the damn time.  It did, after all, occur on his side – which made it easier to make since I knew which way went where.  As I mentioned, we hadn’t used the sheets in a while but since they were the only clean set the day the bed arrived, out they came.  And as we went to put them on, complete confusion set in.

There was no tear.  We looked at each other, looked at the cover sheet and then looked at each other numerous times, all the while confirming with one another that yes, in fact, it had been torn the last time we had seen it.  We were quite certain of that, and also certain of the fact that neither of us were ever within 40 feet of needle and thread, nor did we take it to the dry cleaners to have sewn.  We kind of shrugged it off because this was the second time in two days that something in our apartment seemed to magically fix itself (more on the other later, though it’s not a terribly fascinating story) and we just enjoyed the new mattress.  Then today, it hit us.

My mom.  The last time we went home to visit, we brought laundry (per usual) and she likely used this time to fix the sheets herself.  I immediately got on the phone with her and yup, that’s what happened.  I felt pretty bad that it took me this long to realize it but I’m very, very grateful.  Aren’t moms just the best? I know mine is!

Leave a Reply

