It’s Fat Tuesday, Ya’ll

March 4, 2014 at 9:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Well, at least for a couple more hours (Central Time).

Fat Tuesday is traditionally the day to cut loose and let wild before Lent begins.  A time to indulge in all sorts of debauchery before giving up something fun, like candy or soda, for the next 40 days.  Of course if you’re a recovering Catholic such as myself, Fat Tuesday is a day to eat, drink and be merry before….another day of eating, drinking and being merry.

Until we meet again

Until we meet again

The Mardi Gras time of year always makes me long for New Orleans and this year is no different, especially since I have some friends there now and they keep posting their damn pictures on Facebook.  I know I was just there in November but I’m always game for a stay in The Big Easy so it doesn’t take much to make me miss it.  I’ve been going there regularly since I was a teenager and in that (gasp) decade or so I’ve been there with all manner of friends, family and lovers.  It’s a great place to experience with all of those people and even though I don’t remember all of the memories I’ve made in the French Quarter and surrounding areas, I’ve almost always had a good time.  And while I’ve never been to a Mardi Gras myself, I like to think I can somewhat imagine what it would be like.  Especially since my mom has been twice in the last few years and provided delightfully drunken running commentary while there.

So what would I give up for Lent if I was the giving-up-for-Lent type?  Hard to say.  I tried to give up talking one year and lasted all of 20 minutes before I caved, Lord help me.  I’ve done the candy/sugar/sweets thing and I think once I vowed to be nicer to my sister for those 40 days, which I can’t promise I did.  In my smart-ass teenage stage, I gave up eating meat…as a vegetarian, this was not difficult.  Then I gave up giving up things for Lent and that seems to have stuck.  I guess if I was going to give up something this year I would try to stop talking about the weather.  It sucks, we all know it sucks and it’s going to continue to keep on sucking.  As a well-known movie once said, “I’ll give you a winter prediction: It’s gonna be cold, it’s gonna be grey, and it’s gonna last you for the rest of your life.”

Luckily, I’m not giving up anything for Lent and as such, I won’t be forfeiting my right to bitch and moan about our weather anytime soon.  For instance, Chicago winter has had the most days at or below zero this year – EVER (or at least since the mid 1800’s).  Awesome, right?  At least we’re in the double digits for at least the next ten days.

Mardi Gras is the only sign of Spring I see.  Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Leave a Reply

