The New Girl

February 25, 2014 at 7:13 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Well, I started my new job today (not yesterday as originally thought).  I think it went well and everyone I met seemed pretty nice so that’s all good!  I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to catch on although I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t intimidated.  I guess that’s what new jobs are all about, right?

One big perk is that on top of the free water and coffee the office has, they also have vending machines full of free juice and soda.  Now, considering how my last job slowly took away such privileges as complimentary tea and coffee in the time leading up to the firm’s demise, these beverages are all a pretty big deal for me.  By the time the last firm finally closed, they had even removed our water coolers.  Not surprisingly, we were all pretty much aware that we were circling the drain at that point. Get it?  Drain.

Score!

Since this was my first full day of actual work in just over two months, my head feels like it’s going to drop off from my body and roll far, far away.  It’s been so stuffed with knowledge of new programs, names of dozens of people, rules and regulations and general space layouts that I think it might just burst.  This new company is housed on 12 different floors and each floor is its own particular maze of offices, cubicles, break rooms and kitchens.  I managed to get myself lost once and since I had yet to receive my handy key card pass that allows me to move around the floors, I had to play the part of a little kid and ask a grown up to help me find my way to my office.  Ah yes, it’s always good to be humbled.

Speaking of being humbled, I realized I need to up my game when it comes to my wardrobe.  Gone are the days of me hiding in an office and not interacting with anyone – I need to be a little more professional.  I took a pair of old dress shoes to the local shoe repair shop yesterday and the guy there laughed at me before telling me that I needed to go ahead and just throw them away because they were beyond saving.  Then when I had my photo taken for my badge today, I realized that the sweater I was wearing was the exact same one I had on when I had my first day of work badge made at my last job – over 3.5 years ago.  Whoops.  Definitely time for an upgrade.  Luckily I’m getting paid so I can afford some new duds!

All in all, not a bad first day.  The girl I’m replacing will actually be leaving for good tomorrow afternoon and then I’ll be totally on my own so I’m still more than a little nervous.  Good thing I can keep my eye on the prize – paychecks, new clothes and free Pepsi!

1 Comment

  1. bloodybest said,

    Many congrats!!! Can’t wait to hear all about it. xoxo

Leave a Reply

