Don’t Get Your Panties in a Twist

January 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


I spent Saturday at the Field Museum, where I was nursing a bruised hip and a bruised ego after successfully completing my first major fall on the ice this winter.  It happened right as I was getting to the museum so my pants were nice and wet, as were my eyes if I’m to be totally honest.  I tried to use the hand drier in the bathroom to dry said pants and the volunteer coordinator happened to walk in, prompting her to ask if I was practicing my yoga or ballet.  Very funny.  Anyway I sucked it up and made it through the day, though by the end of it I was ready to just catch to train and go home.  And if I had known what I was about to learn, I could have just foregone the pants altogether.

I didn’t take this picture but it pretty much sums it up.

Ah, the train.  There’s always something interesting happening on public transit and of course Saturday was no different.  I didn’t know it at the time but it was No Pants Subway Day and I was in for a treat.  Despite the weather in the 20’s, there were probably close to 80 people in the train station I entered wearing sweaters, coats, hats, gloves, scarves and underwear.  No pants as far as the eye could see.  There were all kinds of entertaining undergarments going on, from tighty whities to boxers to boxer briefs to granny panties.  When the train pulled into the station everyone cheered as they boarded, much to the bemusement and confusion of anyone who was actually wearing pants, myself included.  An older lady asked the pantless guys in front of me what was going on and they said that they lost their luggage at the airport, while a few guys I spoke to at my transfer point simply said it was laundry day.  They also said they were extremely cold, which was kind of obvious if you know what I mean.

Apparently the whole point was to just ride the train in their skivvies and pretend it wasn’t a big deal.  Mission accomplished, I’d say!  It was definitely entertaining and put a smile on my face after a long day, plus some of the eye candy was, shall we say, quite sweet.  Perhaps another similar stunt will be pulled when the weather is warmer?  A girl can only hope.

2 Comments

  1. bloodybest said,

    Just imagining your Google results before you found the above photo…

Leave a Reply

