Cabin Fever

January 8, 2014 at 1:17 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


Chicago is in a similar state as much of the nation these days, meaning we’re all basically frozen to our couches.  We’ve had temperatures in the negatives for days and on Monday the wind chill was somewhere around negative 50.  I believe it’s also about that cold on Mars.  Alabamians (is that a word?) had weather in the single digits which I can only assume made them all crawl into holes and wish for instant death.

Next in the forecast - freezing rain.  Man I love Chicago winter!

Next in the forecast – freezing rain. Man I love Chicago winter!

Personally, I didn’t leave my house on Monday.  I guess there are some perks to being laid off after all, huh?  I spent last week unpacking, celebrating New Year’s, going crazy cleaning and preparing for the book club I hosted last Thursday (I’ll post about that later).  So last week I was pretty busy and still getting in the groove of the whole unemployed thing but this week cabin fever has definitely set in.  We can’t get Scott’s car out of his parking spot and since he’s still waiting to be released by the doctor to go back to work after his physical therapy, he’s been stuck here with me.  Luckily the temperature has skyrocketed to non-negative numbers so we can actually leave the house without looking like Jack Nicholson from the end of The Shining.

So.  It’s really weird not working.  I’ve pretty much had a steady job since I was 14 (minus a two-week stint about 3 years ago) and it’s just strange not having any real structure to my day.  Or any source of income.  I feel lazy and sort of worthless but there’s not much I can do about it other than continue to job hunt.  I’ve had some luck and even a second interview at a place I really want to work at yesterday but won’t know anything for sure until the end of the week.  Since I’ve already spent a bunch of time sending out resumes this morning, the rest of today will consist of going to the gym and volunteering at the food pantry.  Of course, it’s not like I have to really go to the gym because just walking to the train in about a foot of snow is a workout enough!

But I’m going anyway just because it’s another excuse to get out of this house.

Leave a Reply

