Holiday Train-ing

December 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


My holiday is complete!  I have seen the elusive CTA Holiday Train, albeit from afar.

The excitement was palpable.

The excitement was clearly palpable.

The Holiday Train is an entire train decked out in lights and Christmas decorations, complete with holiday music blaring and even an elderly, typically frozen man dressed as Santa on a sleigh in the middle of the train (they actually remove an entire car and put the sleigh there so he braves the elements as he ho ho ho’s around town).  There are schedules you can follow to try to catch one and in all my time in Chicago, this is only the second time I’ve seen it (I obviously don’t follow those schedules too closely).  The train I was on last night came upon this sight and basically followed it for a while – at first, everyone was all smiling and excited as we busted out our phones for that perfect photo opportunity but as you can see from above, the allure quickly wore off for some.  I contemplated switching over to it just so I could enjoy the ride but it would’ve taken me slightly out of my way and the thing was absolutely packed so I opted to stay in my seat and check it out from there.

If you live in Chicago you know how fun this thing can be and if you don’t then it probably seems a silly thing to get excited over.  But if it makes my commute more festive and entertaining and doesn’t involve crazy people or bums then I’m all for it!

Leave a Reply

