Technophobia

December 12, 2013 at 11:43 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )


In the last two weeks, I have acquired a brand new iPhone and a brand new Nook.  Now, I had a smartphone before and I also even possessed a Nook but both were leagues behind what I currently own.  My smartphone was smart but this iPhone could probably cook a meal for itself and then find the best way to clean up and dispose of the leftovers, while booking a flight across the country and answering questions regarding corn consumption in farm animals.  As for the Nook, the first one I had was the first generation and didn’t come equipped with a touch screen or backlight.  Both Nooks have been hand-me-downs from a particularly generous aunt of mine but this new one takes e-reading to a whole new level.  Between these new acquisitions and the laptop I already had, I’m beginning to feel a little overwhelmed.  What if it all decides to come together to ruin run my life?

One day the machines will rule us all!

Seriously, it wouldn’t be hard.  My iPhone knows my schedule, the names and contact information to all those most important to me, all inquiries I’ve made relating to things I may or may not be too embarrassed to admit to here and even my exact GPS coordinates.  The Nook knows what I’m reading and exactly how slow I’m reading it while my Macbook knows just about everything else, as well as having access to every family and vacation photo I’ve ever taken.  These three devices basically rule my world and I’m not exactly sure how I feel about that.  Sure, they’re all extremely convenient and handy and I’ll be the first to admit that carrying my Nook is a lot simpler than carrying my current book, which is The Count of Monte Cristo and clocks in at just under 1300 pages.  It’s also been really nice to watch Netflix on my phone while at the gym instead of trying not to stare at the jiggling ass of the person in front of me.  So yes, I’m getting spoiled but I still don’t know what to make of it.  I actually have a paperback copy of the book at home because I genuinely like reading from an actual book, so I’m still not sure I’m doing the whole Nook thing right.  Where’s the fine line between being far too reliant on technology and being a Luddite?  The world may never know.

Now if I could just get one of these contraptions to take care of mundane tasks like waiting on hold to talk to the insurance company, I’d be all set.  I’m currently at one hour and thirteen minutes – Blue Cross Blue Shield, my technology and I are coming for you!

Leave a Reply

