It’s a Friday and I Can Cry if I Want To

December 6, 2013 at 10:51 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Well, it’s finally happened.  The firm I work for officially told me that we’re closing at the end of the year.

I’ve been expecting this for a little while and have begun a job search but there’s a difference between suspecting and knowing for certain.  They’re going to try to keep me on through the end of the month but there’s no guarantee even of that.  The good thing is that my boss is being very lenient with my schedule and with me taking time off for interviews.  Also, I can collect unemployment if need be though I’m really hoping it doesn’t come down to that.  The bad news is I’m losing my super sweet corner office with a view and well, my job.  I’ve never been in this kind of situation before and it’s pretty weird.  It also obviously sucks.

It helped I had a holiday office party at the Art Institute to go to with a friend last night and it gave me hope that maybe next year I’ll be working at a place that has holiday parties instead of layoffs.  There was good food and an open bar, which I took advantage of.

Of course I did.

Unfortunately, I took advantage too much and in my super graceful state last evening, I knocked my brand new iPhone into the toilet.  I’ll be buying a new one later today.  I have insurance and if I had done this a week ago my plan would’ve paid for a new phone but apparently when I renewed my contract, the new insurance comes with a $150 deductible.  I wasn’t happy about that but figured since I had never needed it before it wouldn’t be a big deal.  Well I’m glad I have it now but I’m still not happy about shelling out more cash for a phone I just bought.  It’s an expensive lesson to learn and from now on my cell phone will be banned from the bathroom.  But, I’ve got to have a phone especially since I’m now searching for a new job.

When it rains it pours.  At least it’s Friday!

Leave a Reply

