Mondaze

November 11, 2013 at 2:02 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


Welp, I’m an idiot.  For months, months, I’ve thought that Thanksgiving fell on November 21st this year.  Whether that’s because we have an extra weekend this month and it threw me off or it’s because I simply can’t read a calendar, there it is.  I requested the wrong dates off of work and it’s been in my head that this is the last full week I had to work before my super awesome family fun time vacation in Louisiana.  I scheduled volunteering and hanging out with friends around this, a fictitious date for a holiday.  Super crap.

I am a dumbass.

Once I realized my mistake today, I immediately emailed my boss to proclaim my stupidity and beg for the right days off instead.  That wasn’t a problem and this change actually makes work a little easier as I had a few big projects due the week I thought I’d be gone that I’ll now be around to take care of.  The major downside here is that I’ve been under the impression that after working this week plus one Monday, I’d be on vacation for another week.  Glorious visions of family time and warmer weather have been dancing through my head and I was analyzing next week’s weather in Louisiana just this morning.  All for naught.  Now I’m stuck with a stupid snow/rain mix here in Chicago and an extra week until I can get away from it all.  A week that I have to work, since my vacation starts in fifteen days instead of eight, as I previously assumed.  We all know what assuming does and I am a prime example.  I’m still not even sure how this happened – I stare at schedules and calendars all day long and given how much this took me by surprise,  you would think I was actively trying to be ignorant of the date of Thanksgiving.  It’s all a huge mistake but boy, I feel foolish.

At least I didn’t buy a plane ticket.

Stupid Monday.

Leave a Reply

