Foodie Friday

November 8, 2013 at 12:35 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I know I talked about this meal a lot and I’m finally getting around to posting it.  This was the menu for a dinner party Scott and I had a few weekends ago.  Disclaimer – it tasted much better than it looked.  I promise!  And the reason the mac and cheese is green is that I put spinach and green peppers in with the recipe.  So don’t let my unappetizing phone picture deter you from this delicious and somewhat nutritious meal!

It really was good!

Like my Halloween themed table?

We had mashed cauliflower, vegan mac and cheese and eggplant/zucchini sandwiches.  Here are the details:

Sandwiches:

  • Jimmy John’s day old bread (can be purchased in most stores for .50/loaf) with the inside torn out.  This leaves more room for toppings – trust me, I used to work there and it’s how they make their sandwiches too.  Bread goes in the oven to toast it.
  • pesto on the bottom half
  • provolone cheese
  • tomato slices
  • marinated eggplant and zucchini from Trader Joe’s (frozen, must heat up on a baking sheet first)

Basically, stack it all up on the sandwich and put back in the oven to melt everything together.

Mashed Cauliflower with Chives and Garlic:

  • large cauliflowers, chopped into florets (I used three for six people and it was more than enough)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 6 tbsp nutritional yeast flakes (found at Whole Foods…and truth be told, I didn’t know what the hell they were until planning this meal)
  • 6 tbsp butter/vegan butter
  • 3 tbsp fresh chopped chives
  • salt, pepper and red pepper to taste

Boil all of the cauliflower until it’s soft enough to stick a fork through.  Drain and put into a large bowl and puree/mash as you see fit (I used an immersion blender, super easy).  Mix in the remaining ingredients and you’re all set.

Vegan Mac and Cheese

  • 6 cups cooked macaroni pasta
  • 1 cup nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1 can cannelloni beans, drained
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato
  • 1/3 vegan butter, softened
  • 1 cup fresh cooked spinach
  • 1/2 cup cooked red, yellow and green peppers
  • red pepper, salt and pepper to taste

Put everything but the noodles into a blender and go to town.  You can thin out the sauce with soy milk, soy creamer or water if you like.  Then you just pour the “cheese” (because that’s what all that resembles, even if it is green) over the macaroni and blend together.

Voila!  That’s the meal.  I realize the whole vegan thing is a turn off to some people but even the carnivorous members of our group got up for seconds (well, some of them) so I’d say it wasn’t too bad.  I enjoyed it myself and plan on trying it again sans the greenery this weekend!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

