Sweet Treat

November 5, 2013 at 12:40 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


I have great friends.  For example: a close friend of mine who lives out near San Diego.  We met a few years ago and bonded while we trekked around the city to various bar events, the Taste of Chicago, streetfests and so much more.  She was working towards her Master’s degree and I was so proud of her when she finished once and for all.  She moved back home to Georgia for a bit while she job searched around the country for something in her chosen profession and it was not easy.  But she was really determined, stuck with it and eventually landed a great job in California.  I’m in awe of her ability to see her dream all the way through and I think she’s just all around amazing.  She’s also the super talented friend who has done portraits of Catsby and Scott’s beloved dog Daisy, and those paintings will always have a special place in my heart.  In short, this girl rocks.  Tremendously.

Case in point – look what she got for me yesterday:

Sinfully delicious!

Sinfully delicious!

She started g chatting with me yesterday afternoon and told me she had pre-ordered a cupcake for me at this fancy pants Cupcake Bakery not far from my office – and she did this from across the country!  She knew I’d had an unusually awful week last week and this was her way of helping out.  And help out it did!  That tasty treat put a huge smile on my face.  But it wasn’t just the cupcake that did it – knowing that she was thinking of me and cared enough to orchestrate such a plan really meant a lot.  Cupcakes come and go (quickly, around me…), but great friends are forever!

Leave a Reply

