Pining for Pinterest

November 4, 2013 at 12:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I don’t Pinterest.  I’m on the computer too much during the day to try and add to it by letting my soul be sucked into some crafty DIY website that makes me feel bad about my creative and artistic abilities.  That said, I’m trying to put something together for Scott’s birthday next month and it seems like every Google search for ideas I do takes me to a stupid Pinterest board.  Just, great.

Everything on that site is designed to look super easy and wonderful but there’s  a strong possibility I’ll put myself in the ER the first time I try to execute the project I have in mind.  It does involve cutting wood, after all.  Wow, typing that sounds really dirty – I promise this gift idea is nothing sexual, but that it literally involves cutting into a wooden frame.  That’s about all I want to give away right now because even though I highly doubt Scott regularly checks my blog, it would be my luck to blow my own surprise.

 

This site might give me a seizure. Or a panic attack. Or both.

That said, I’m not even sure I’ll be able to do this without his help.  After all, he’s much handier than I am and would be the first person I would normally turn to when I have a project to do involving tools.  Again, that sounds dirty but I’m going to leave it anyway.  Get your mind out of the gutter, folks!

Pinterest is also good for recipes that make me feel like a failure as a cook, sewing ideas that make me want to stab my eyeball with a needle and cutesy craft projects that make me want to throw balls of glitter at anyone who mentions the word ‘decoupage’.  Am I alone here?  Do I lack some sort of essential female gene that makes this website enjoyable?  It sure feels like it.  I wonder if there’s a website for lazy, clumsy, cheap, uninspired and uncrafty people that just sells what it is we’re thinking of making and at a reasonable price.  Oh, I guess Etsy fits that bill but Etsy makes me feel a lot like Pinterest, hence rounding out this evil circle of things that prove I’m not very crafty.

Maybe I’ll just get him a gift card instead.  After all, I can sign my name like a pro!  So long as it doesn’t involve calligraphy…

Leave a Reply

