I Put a Spell on You!

November 1, 2013 at 1:57 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


And now you’re mine!

So, going out last night was actually a lot of fun.  We may have not had the best costumes (I settled for hockey player and Scott just wore a Walking Dead t-shirt) but no one really cared about get-ups.  There were people everywhere and just standing on the street and watching was pretty entertaining.  Boystown is a fun place any night of the year but particularly more so on Halloween, so I’m glad we made the trip.  I met up with some old college friends and new Chicago buddies and we danced around for hours while enjoying $1 well drinks.

Sistaaahs!

Sistaaahs!

The Hocus Pocus drag show was everything I hoped it would be and I sang along to my heart’s content.  The “I Put a Spell on You” song is perhaps the song that Hocus Pocus is best known for and they totally rocked it (as seen by the picture – and yes, Sarah Jessica Parker’s character is black.  This is a progressive club, ya’ll).  The drag queen playing Kathy Najimy’s character even sang a rendition of “Oh Maria” from Sister Act that brought down the house.  It was pretty clever to mash one actress across two movies and apparently I remembered almost every word to that song because I found myself singing along there as well!  I think Scott was impressed with my singing and dancing abilities because he’s never really seen them before, since club-hopping isn’t something we usually do.  And if he wasn’t impressed – well, he should have been.

We stayed at the club until 1am or so, then I stopped with Scott so he could get some late night Thai on our walk home from the train.  It was probably 2 or later before I got to bed (I don’t know for sure because I refused to look at the clock at that point) and I gotta admit, that’s the absolute latest I’ve stayed up on a work night in years.  But it was SO worth it.  We all had a blast and even though I’m paying for it with yawns and a semi-queasy stomach today, I’m really glad we went.  I’m also glad Halloween only comes once a year!

Leave a Reply

