It’s That Time Again

October 29, 2013 at 12:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I went home over the weekend and came back to Chicago with yet another sinus/head cold thing that is making me miserable.  The same thing happened the last time I went to Indiana and I’m just not sure why.  Does it have something to do with the jam-packed schedule I plan for myself?  Why yes, most likely it does.  I left Friday after work and before I came back on Sunday evening, I’d accomplished the following:

  • 2 5 hour car rides
  • 2 brunches with 6 different people
  • 1 fish fry, 1 housewarming and 1 birthday party across 2 states, where I got to see 18 family members and a ton of people I don’t know
  • 5 loads of laundry (thanks, Mom!)
  • 2 separate visits with my grandparents that featured 2 milkshakes and 6 donuts
  • 1 visit with an uncle and 2 donuts
  • 2 bridesmaid dresses tried on for 1 wedding I’ll be in next summer
  • 2 bottles of wine drained

There was a lot more but my head hurts just thinking about it.  I did see gas for $3.15 a gallon and that was something new and different for me so I made note of it.  I also found graffiti I wrote on the underside of a pool table over a dozen years ago and was glad to see it hadn’t changed – not even my signature.  It’s nice to be able to count on some things.

Like getting sick after such a hectic weekend.  I should be used to it but given the poor-me tone of this post, I’m obviously not.  So I’ll keep downing vitamins and tea while hoping I can boost my immune system to make it through the upcoming holidays.  Because not even illness will slow me down – a sore throat and head full of mucus is worth it to see my family!  Although they might not feel the same way…

Leave a Reply

