Table for Six

October 18, 2013 at 1:51 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


Scott and I are hosting a dinner party tomorrow night.  We’re having over my newly pregnant friend and her husband, along with an old college buddy of mine and the new guy he’s dating.  I’m really excited to introduce all of my friends to each other and we’re going to watch The Witches of Eastwick after we eat so I don’t see how anything could possibly go wrong.  Unless I mess up the meal, that is!

I’ve never cooked for six people before so it’s a little intimidating.  It’ll also be extra interesting because our table only sits four so we’ll be doing some improvising when it comes to seating arrangements.  Thank god for folding chairs, right?  I’m pretty sure we’ll all fit so now it’s a matter of making a tasty meal that everyone (even my dairy-free boyfriend) can enjoy.  Luckily, I have the internet and it helped me come up with some ideas.

Let’s Dinner Party!

Here’s what’s on the menu:

  • Toasted baguette sandwiches featuring marinated eggplant, zucchini, provolone cheese, pesto and tomatoes
  • Mashed cauliflower with chives and roasted garlic
  • Macaroni and cheese with red and yellow peppers and spinach.  This is actually vegan and the “cheese” sauce I found includes cannellini beans and a sweet potato, among other things.  I’m a little nervous about this especially since I love me some good old-fashioned regular processed cheese food product but this got great reviews and looks pretty good so I’m going to just go for it.

I also found a recipe that calls for baking macaroni and cheese in muffin cups so you wind up with mac and cheese muffins.  I’m going to throw all caution to the wind and just incorporate one recipe with the other and see what happens.

Hopefully it will be the best meal anyone has ever had in their entire life but if not, I can always order pizza.  And at least Jack Nicholson, Cher, Michelle Pfeiffer and Susan Sarandon will be around to keep us company!

Leave a Reply

